Unsung Records





"Source of Joy is an exquisite, highly original and absorbing aural tapestry, revealing finer threads with each listen".

Colin Edwin (Porcupine Tree, Ex-Wise Heads, Random Noise Generator)


Robert Jürjendal

Robert Jürendal

Robert Jürjendal has studied classical guitar and composition at G.Ots Tallinn Music School. In 1992-1997 he participated in various Robert Fripp Guitar Craft courses and toured with The Berlin Guitar Ensemble.

Beside the solo- and guitar ensemble repertoire, he has written music for male choir and electric

guitars, cembalo duo, string quartet, recorder trio. His composition style is influenced by

minimalism, classical, prog rock, jazz and old church music. He has written music for documentary films, theatre productions and art exhibitions.

He has been working with wellknown Estonian rock artists Tõnis Mägi and Riho Sibul as well as with artists Toyah Willcox (UK), David Rothenberg (USA ), Petri Kuljuntausta (FIN), Markus Reuter (Austria), Jan Bang (Norway).

As a guitarist/sideman/ composer/arranger , Robert Jürjendal has appeared on more than 30 records and performed in USA, UK, Germany, France, Finland, Norway, Sweden, Greece, Latvia, Lithuania and Russia.
He is a lecturer of guitar and improvisation classes at Tartu University’s Viljandi Cultural Academy and Estonian Academy Of Music And Theatre

Various collaborations

Weekend Guitar Trio was formed in 1993 after Robert Jürjendal’s participation at a Guitar Craft Course in Germany. It consists of Robert Jürjendal, Tõnis Leemets and Mart Soo, with backgrounds in classical guitar/Guitar Craft method, electronic music, and jazz/free improvisation, respectively. They have performed at countless jazz festivals all over Europe, had compositions written specially for them by Estonian and German composers, and presented their own compositions at contemporary music festivals.WGT won first prize at Lausanne International Guitar festival (1995).
WGT has released 6 albums under their own name and is featured on many more. The Estonian Radio and the Estonian National TV have produced programs about them and their music has also been on air on BBC 3 and numerous other European radio stations.
The trio has collaborated with top Estonian and British DJ-s, players of traditional instruments (kannel and bagpipe), choirs (from the Gregorian chant ensemble Vox Clamantis to the Estonian National Male Choir), and many improvising musicians like Jan Bang (live sampling), Brian Melvin (percussion), Markus Reuter (touch guitar), David Rothenberg (clarinet) and Toyah Willcox (vocals). After their concert at the 2011 Punkt festival in Tallinn, their music was instantly “remixed” by Erik Honoré, Eivind Aarset and Arve Henriksen.


Fragile was formed in 1997 as a performance project together with Robert Jürjendal, Arvo Urb) and an artist Tõnu Talve. The aim of this collaboration was to create real time show based on improvisational music and painting.
Fragile has performed in Estonia, Portugal and Udmurtia and played/recorded together with Evelin Saul, Riho Sibul, Tõnis Leemets, Lotte Jürjendal,David Rothenberg and Nadia Utkina. Fragile has released 4 CD-s.


Suurõ Pilvõ (Big Clouds , 2009) are: Celia Roose – voice, harmonica, bagpipe, norwegian flute; Tuule Kann – voice, estonian zithers, jewsh harph; Robert Jürjendal – guitar, live electronics. Estonian folk/ambient trio Suurõ Pilvõ was formed originally in 1997. They have been focused on estonian old traditional folk songs and instrumental music combined with guitar, live electronics and soundscapes.

UMA was formed in 2007 by two Estonian musicians, guitarist Robert Jürjendal and trumpet player Aleksei Saks.

At first glance the instrumentation might suggest their music might be a sparse jazzy affair. Yet the integration of live electronics and processing makes their sound float somewhere between post-rock, ambient, electronica and the subtle, cool tones of ECM-style jazz.

The duo has released 4 albums: Civitas Soli (2008), Hymn To Undiscovered Land (2010), Meeting Unknown (2012) Peidus pool (2013)


Quartet to the End of Time (Modus Novus) (2012): “The group, made up of four guitarists, took its name from Olivier Messiaen’s famous composition and was formed in the year of his hundredth birthday. However, there is no claim made to be related to him or his music in any way.” – Markus Reuter. The guitarists: Robert Jürjendal, Tõnis Leemets, Markus Reuter, Mart Soo.

Three Corners Of The World (2007) is an improvisational music project by Robert Jürjendal (guitar, electronics), David Rothenberg (clarinet, voice, computer) and famous finnish electron musician Petri Kuljuntausta (live samplings, electronics).

This Fragile Moment (2009) is an eclectic musical assemblage fronted by the charismatic English vocalist Toyah Wilcox.
Predominantly improvised live-in-the-studio performances by Toyah, bassist Chris Wong (of Toyah’s other current project The Humans), producer & touch guitarist Markus Reuter, plus the members of Estonian duo Fragile Arvo Urb (drums) and Robert Jürjendal (guitar).

Five Seasons (2013) is a brand new Estonian/ Denmark group by Volkmar Zimmermann (guitar), Sara Fiil (soprano voice), Robert Jürjendal (guitar, composition), Aleksei Saks (corno da caccia) and Madis Metsamart (vibraphone). The group is currently playing new chamber Music composed by Robert Jürjendal.

Music for the films and theatre

“Sundasunik” dir. by Rein Maran
“Rannaniitude laulud” dir. by Ago Ruus
“Black With Red” , “Lanswood Gardens” dir. by Pawel Kuczynski (Poland)
“The Measure of Man” dir.by Marianne Kõrver

“Teispool vihma“ dir. by Margus Paju
“Igatsus” dir. by Steve Cute (USA)

“Elvis oli kapis“ dir. by Aare Toikka
“Kähku igavikku” and ”Lahuselu“ dir. by Roman Baskin

Selection of the commisioned compositions

Paradox of Our Age – commisioned by Estonian State Male Choir 2005

Flowers, Sweaters & Information – commisioned by Tallinn Harpsichord Days 2006

Monitor – commissioned by Tobias String Quartet 2005

Conciliator – commissioned by Tallinn Guitar Quartet 2010

Bells From The Past – commissioned by VGO trio 2010

Before And After Us – commisioned by Estonian Young Composers Days 2011

State of Minds – commisioned by Estonian Harpsichord Society 2012

Loves’ Philosophy – commissioned by guitarist Volkmar Zimmermann 2011

To; Mutability – commissioned by guitarist Volkmar Zimmermann 2013


Robert Jürjendal contact: robirohi@gmail.com




iapetus medienberatungs- und medienvertriebs-gmbh
carl-bertelsmann-str. 48 | 33332 guetersloh | germany
info[a]iapetus-media.com | iapetus-media.com